Author’s Couch: Q&A with K.A. Stewart

JJD1When I stumbled upon the cover of K.A. Stewart’s first Jesse James Dawson novel–A DEVIL IN THE DETAILS–several years ago, I knew it needed a home on my shelves. A demon-fighting Samurai-sword wielding Midwestern father? What’s not to love about that main character?! 

I devoured the other Jesse James Dawson books, including Stewart’s most recently self-published fourth in the series. Turns out, it’s not just JJD that I love. I also enjoyed Stewart’s steampunk-mythology mash-up SECOND OLYMPUS. You can find my full review here in the archives, and we’re thrilled to have her on the blog today to share a little more about it.

-Nicole

Pageflex Persona [document: PRS0000035_00025]Synopsis

The war amongst the Greek gods lasted over three decades and when it was ended, the sun was snuffed from the sky, Artemis sat on the throne, and the muses were murdered.

Without the power to create or invent, the human race languished for generations, trapped within the walled city of Elysia, their lives governed by the steady tick of the great world clock and the watchful eye of their increasingly erratic goddess.

But in the lower wards, far from the shining beacon that is Olympus Tower, a crippled boy named Geoff has grown to manhood, unaware of the legacy contained in his own mysterious bloodline. When his loved ones are threatened, the world will finally wake under the power of the muse, and the insane goddess Artemis will remember the very dangerous power of human imagination.

Q&A

1. What’s the story behind the story? Tell us a little about where you got the idea for your book.

SECOND OLYMPUS came about when a friend of mine was lamenting that he seemed to be able to inspire others with great ideas, but he wasn’t good at creating anything himself (his opinion, not mine). That got me to thinking about what a world without inspiration would be like, and I was watching the movie Dark City at the time, and so a world of perpetual night seemed logical to add to the mix. Which then begged the question, what happened to the sun? It just kind of went from there.

BFF: Isn’t it funny how things come together to spark that inspiration? I loved the perpetual night angle – it added the perfect ambiance for your world.

2. What’s your personal favorite part about the story? A character you loved writing, a scene that gives you shivers in all the best ways, etc.

Even eight years after I first set down words on this story, there are still pieces that give me chills and bring tears to my eyes. I hate to say too much, for fear of spoilers, but the scene where Geoff finally exercises ALL his power is… Yeah, that’s my scene. Goosebumps, just thinking about that last heartfelt cry.

BFF: Love hearing this! It’s all about making us readers weep with you. 🙂

3. What do you hope readers take away from your story?

Really, I just hope the reader comes away with a sense that they’ve visited another world, and they had a good time. I’ve never been one for deeper meanings, or lessons to be taught or anything. I just want to entertain people.

4. Who/what are some of your favorite authors or books? Can you share how they’ve inspired you?

My absolute favorite author is Jim Butcher, and most people know him for his DRESDEN FILES series (which I adore). But my true favorite series is also his, the CODEX ALERA, and I’m just in awe of the world building that went into that. I’m kind of a world building junkie, it’s my favorite part of the writing process, and with every new book, I try to push and challenge myself to come up with a world that is truly my own.

BFF: We should share bookshelves! Jim Butcher has a hefty portion of mine too.

5. What is most likely to draw you in to a book?

Like I said above, I’m looking for unique worlds. Give me something with unusual rules, but make them work. If your character has an odd trait, give me a crazy, but totally plausible, reason why. I want to spend time in another world too. 😉

6. What do you wish authors would do more of?

This one was hard. We’re currently in a time in publishing where more things are possible than ever before, both with traditional and self-publishing. I think maybe I would just say that I want authors to take more risks. Not sure a book will sell traditionally? Write it anyway. Someone, somewhere, will love it.

BFF: Fantastic advice! We might need to turn it into a bumper sticker.

7. Tell us a little about your publishing journey.

I’ve been writing since I could hold a pencil (literally), but I didn’t actually try to get anything published until I came up with A DEVIL IN THE DETAILS (JJD Book 1). I got an agent in 2008, sold the book in early ’09 and it came out in 2010. Since then I’ve had three more books traditionally published, and two books self-published, and I’m loving every second of it.

8. What’s next on your plate?

I am currently writing the fifth book in the Jesse James Dawson series (BFF: Pause for excited dancing!!), to be self-published hopefully toward the end of this year, and my agent is shopping around something else unrelated but that I’m very excited about.

BFF: And, of course, the fun stuff…

Favorite dragon: Ruth, from the Dragonriders of Pern series
Favorite Shakespeare: Sonnet 29 – “When, in disgrace with fortune and men’s eyes…”
Favorite fantasy food: Klah, also from the Dragonriders of Pern series. Get the recipe!

BFF: What we’re hearing is we basically all need to visit Pern together. Done! Thanks so much for joining us on the Author’s Couch, and best of luck on your upcoming projects.

More About K.A.

KA StewartK.A. Stewart has a BA in English with an emphasis in Literature from William Jewell College. She lives in Missouri with her husband, daughter, two cats, and one small furry demon that thinks it’s a cat.

More About SECOND OLYMPUS

Leave a Reply

